As you may or may not know, I'm a server. I've worked in the restaurant business since I began working at age 15. My philosophy on hospitality is, "I'm going to give my guests the best service I possibly can, because if I were out I would want to be given the best service another person could give". Well, no matter how much I enable myself to kiss other peoples' asses, even if I'm in the WORST mood of my life, there's always one person who manages to ruin my mood completely.
Now, as the title of this selection is titled, "DON'T FU** WITH THE PEOPLE WHO FU** WITH YOUR FOOD!!" I can honestly say, I have never, ever tampered with anyone's food even the slightest. I cannot say the same for all food-service serving individuals, though. If I were to become president, I would make it mandatory for each individual in society to be a server or work in the food industry business for at least one year of his or her life, and I would require everyone to watch the movie Waiting. It is quite a funny movie, yes, but it is quite a realistic movie as well.
So, like I was saying, if you want the best service you can possibly get, then you need to give your server respect. (This is the golden rule, even for places like McDonald's... trust me, I've worked there too...). I am now going to tell you stories that will blow your mind, as far as the way some customers have acted. If this doesn't strike you as an odd way to act when enjoying a meal in a restaurant, then I would advise you to seriously reconsider the way you act in a restaurant.
Example 1: If I'm Not Happy, No One's Happy
This did not happen to me, but it did happen to another girl whom I work with, (who we'll call Spicy Volcano.) I was actually able to pick up snippets of what happened and, I swear to you, I am not exaggerating in the least. So, this family of three came in to my place of business, on a Saturday night, obviously expecting to get their food in 10 minutes. My restaurant not only does dine-in, but it does delivery and pick-up as well. So, needless to say, on a Saturday night it gets pretty busy. (Also, I'd like everyone to know, servers get perturbed as well when their table's food doesn't come out in a timely manner... It affects the way we pay our bills and survive). Spicy Volcano happened to get sat with one of the worst tables in the world (Table A) and another table who placed their order before they came in so they didn't have to wait so long before receiving their dinner while they sat waiting, (who we'll label table B). So, table A (the unhappy table), stopped my friend and said, "we have been waiting twenty minutes for our meal, this is getting ridiculous". Apparently, this was not the first time they had stopped Spicy Volcano asking about their meal. So, Spicy Volcano marched back into the back and said, "I don't care if table A's food is ready or not, I want their meal so I can give it to them." Obviously, my hardly understanding English cooks did not give her an uncooked meal. Instead they looked at her funny and went on their way cooking. Anywho, about 5 minutes later, table A and B's food came up, so Spicy Volcano put all of the food on one tray and went on her way. She stopped by table B's table first and while she was dropping their food the woman at table A said, "how come they're getting their food? We've been waiting 40 minutes." (Notice how the time jumped 20 minutes in a matter of 5 minutes?) Spicy Volcano, with the trey of food in her hand, said, "Ma'am, I have your food right here in my hand. I will give it to you as soon as I give these people their food." That did not stop the woman from table A complaining, so the woman from table B turned around and said, "I'm trying to enjoy my meal. If you could turn around and mind your own business, that would be most pleasant". Let's just say, table A had nothing to say after that.
I have many more examples to come, but I must enjoy my day at the gym, then in classes. Until next time...
No comments:
Post a Comment